How To Remove Deactivated Accounts From Your Friends List In Facebook

Facebook shows all of your friends count, but you can’t figure out some of them in the list. These missing ones are either deactivated or banned profiles. Though this does not seem to be a major problem, but it jumbles friend list and increases the total number of friends in your list. Here’s a solution that will help you to delete such ghost profiles and make your friend list neat and clean.

Identify Deactivated Profiles:

Go to your profile and take a note of total number of people in your friend list, calculated by Facebook.  Now, go to https://www.facebook.com/me/friends and count the total number of profiles, including those who have deactivated their profiles. These two numbers sometime does not match each other. For example, I have 400 friends in my list as per Facebook, but after actual counting, I came up with a count of 320 of them.

Suppose you had 200 friends and Mr. ABC added you on Facebook, so your total count becomes 201. Later on, he decides to deactivate his profile. Your count should get back to 200, but it still shows 201. You need to “unfriend” all these deactivated profiles for Facebook to reflect the correct friend count.

Remove Deactivated Profiles:

Go to search box on the page and type a letter. After that, Facebook will display all friends that have that letter anywhere in the name and will list even the deactivated profiles in the search results.

Deactivated profiles have no profile pictures and displays default avatar. You can unfriend this unreal profiles individually and continue you the same search with another alphabet.

Deactivating the Facebook account is not the same thing as deleting it. When you deactivate the profile, your timeline disappears from the Facebook service immediately. People on Facebook will not be able to search for you, but some information like messages you sent, may still be evident to others.

Facebook still keeps all of your data, just in case you want to come back at some point. If you decide to reactivate your account, the information on your timeline will be available when you come back.

 

You May Also Like

How To Hide Posts In Facebook From Certain People Did you figure out that on Facebook, you can make a post completely invisible to a particular person or group of people? It's a helpful privacy option...
Facebook Acquires Online Video Advertising Platfor... Facebook's video ad business will get better in future. The social networking giant has recently announced its plans to acquire LiveRail, an advertisi...
How To Sync Your Facebook And Twitter Posts Synching Facebook and Twitter account is becoming a popular trend, as more users find it difficult to keep both their networks updated on a regular ba...
Facebook Launches Its New Messaging App, Slingshot Facebook has accidentally released a photo-messaging app, Slingshot earlier this month in Malaysia. Now the company has officially launched its new ap...
How To Prevent Facebook From Using Your Browsing H... Facebook recently announced that they will be using user’s browser history to benefit the advertisers. It means that company will use information gath...

Leave a reply